Justia Public Benefits Opinion Summaries

Articles Posted in U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
by
The plaintiff applied for supplemental security income, asserting that a combination of physical and mental impairments, including obesity, blood clots, migraines, high blood pressure, agoraphobia, anxiety, and depression, rendered her unable to work. She had received special-education services in high school and subsequently attempted, but did not complete, a cosmetology program. Her anxiety and agoraphobia were managed with medication, and treatment records frequently noted normal mental status. In connection with her claim, she was evaluated by a psychological consultant who diagnosed agoraphobia and opined severe impairment in her ability to interact and tolerate work-related stress. State-agency consultants reviewed the record and found moderate or lesser limitations, concluding she could perform simple, repetitive tasks with limited social interaction.An Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) denied her claim following a hearing, finding she retained the residual functional capacity to perform a range of light, unskilled work, and relying on testimony from a vocational expert. The ALJ found the psychological consultant’s opinion less persuasive than those of the state-agency reviewers, and determined the plaintiff could stand and walk for more than four hours per workday. The ALJ identified jobs she could perform even with a four-hour standing and walking limitation. The Appeals Council denied review, and the United States District Court for the Western District of North Carolina granted summary judgment to the Commissioner.The United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit reviewed the district court’s judgment under a deferential substantial-evidence standard. The court held that the ALJ applied the correct legal standards, adequately explained her evaluation of medical opinions and educational findings, and that substantial evidence supported those conclusions. Any error in the standing-and-walking finding was deemed harmless because the occupations identified at step five accommodated a four-hour limitation. The court affirmed the district court’s judgment. View "Calhoun v. Commissioner of Social Security" on Justia Law

by
A former underground coal miner developed severe respiratory problems, including chronic cough and significant limitations in daily activities, following nearly 12 years of employment in West Virginia coal mines. After his symptoms worsened post-employment, he filed a claim for benefits under the Black Lung Benefits Act in 2020. Medical testing revealed persistent lung function impairment, and four pulmonary specialists—two for the miner and two for his former employer—offered differing opinions on the cause of his disability. The miner’s experts attributed his impairment to legal pneumoconiosis resulting from coal mine dust exposure, while the company’s experts diagnosed asthma unrelated to mining.A United States Department of Labor administrative law judge (ALJ) heard the case. The parties stipulated to the miner’s work history, and the company was named the responsible operator. The ALJ found the miner’s experts’ opinions more persuasive, particularly because they addressed the regulatory definitions and considered the possibility that coal dust exposure worsened his condition. The ALJ concluded the miner had legal pneumoconiosis arising from his coal mine employment, was totally disabled, and that pneumoconiosis substantially contributed to his disability. The company’s experts were found less persuasive for not adequately addressing the regulatory definition or the potential contribution of coal dust. The Benefits Review Board (BRB) affirmed the ALJ’s decision, concluding that substantial evidence supported all findings.The United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit reviewed the company’s petition. The court held that the ALJ and BRB did not err in their factual findings or legal analysis. It found sufficient evidence that the miner had legal pneumoconiosis caused by coal mine employment and that the disease substantially contributed to his total disability. The Fourth Circuit denied the petition for review, affirming the award of black lung benefits to the miner. View "Central Appalachian Coal Company v. DOWCP" on Justia Law

by
A miner who worked in West Virginia coal mines for nearly four decades applied for benefits under the Black Lung Benefits Act after retiring in 2015. From mid-2012 through December 2014, he worked for Rhino Energy, LLC as a subcontractor in mines owned by Wildcat Energy, LLC. When Rhino’s subcontract ended, he joined Wildcat’s payroll and continued working at Wildcat until his retirement in October 2015. The dispute centers on which employer—Rhino or Wildcat—should be responsible for paying his black lung benefits.After the miner filed his claim, the district director of the Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs designated Rhino as the responsible operator, finding that Wildcat had not employed the miner for the full year required by regulations and thus was not a potentially liable operator. The district director did not address Wildcat’s financial capacity, nor did he issue a Coverage Statement regarding Wildcat’s insurance status. Rhino contested its designation, arguing Wildcat should be responsible, including as a successor operator, but the district director and subsequently the Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) reaffirmed Rhino’s liability, focusing on the duration of Wildcat’s employment. The Benefits Review Board upheld the ALJ’s decision, agreeing that Wildcat had not employed the miner for a year and noting Rhino had not demonstrated Wildcat’s financial capability.The United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit reviewed the Board’s order. It held that under the correct interpretation of the regulations, Wildcat had employed the miner for the requisite year based on working days, and because the district director did not issue a Coverage Statement, Wildcat was presumed financially capable of paying benefits. The court determined Wildcat should have been designated as the responsible operator, but because regulations prohibit imposing liability on another operator at this stage, it vacated the Board’s order and remanded with instructions for the Black Lung Disability Trust Fund to pay the miner’s benefits. View "Rhino Energy, LLC v. DOWCP" on Justia Law

by
A federal prisoner was sentenced in December 2020 and, due to pending charges in another jurisdiction, was held at a detention center in Rhode Island rather than being promptly transferred to his designated Bureau of Prisons (BOP) facility in South Carolina. During this period of post-sentencing detention, the prisoner claims to have participated in programs under the First Step Act (FSA), thereby accruing approximately 150 days of time credits, which could reduce his time in custody. However, the BOP did not recognize these credits because he had not undergone a formal risk and needs assessment—the BOP’s prerequisite for awarding such credits—until his eventual arrival at the designated facility in March 2022.After exhausting administrative remedies, the prisoner filed a pro se habeas petition in the United States District Court for the District of South Carolina, seeking recognition of his alleged FSA credits. The magistrate judge, without briefing or discovery, recommended dismissal. The district court adopted this recommendation, concluding that the BOP’s regulation reasonably required an initial assessment before credits could be earned, and applied Chevron deference to uphold the agency's interpretation. The district court also found no evidence the prisoner had “successfully participated” in qualifying programs before arrival at the BOP facility and dismissed the petition without prejudice, refusing to require a government response.On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit vacated the district court’s judgment and remanded. The Fourth Circuit held that the case was not moot, as the prisoner could still benefit from the FSA credits if his risk status changed or a warden approved his release. The court further held that, in light of the Supreme Court’s decision in Loper Bright Enterprises v. Raimondo, which overturned Chevron deference, the district court must independently determine whether the BOP’s interpretation of “successful participation” aligns with the best reading of the statute. View "Benson v. Warden FCI Edgefield" on Justia Law

by
A miner filed a claim for benefits under the Black Lung Benefits Act, asserting total disability due to lung disease following over two decades of coal mine employment. The miner had a significant history of cigarette smoking, but no evidence of clinical pneumoconiosis was present. The dispute centered on whether his disabling pulmonary impairment—despite his smoking history—was legally attributable to his coal mine dust exposure.An Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) first reviewed the claim and found that the miner had worked in coal mines for 27 years and suffered from a totally disabling pulmonary impairment. These facts entitled the miner to a statutory presumption that his disability was caused by pneumoconiosis. The ALJ determined that the mining company, as the responsible employer, failed to rebut this presumption. The ALJ discredited the employer’s medical experts, who attributed the impairment solely to smoking, because their opinions did not properly consider the additive effects of smoking and coal dust, as recognized by the Department of Labor’s Preamble to its Black Lung regulations. The Benefits Review Board affirmed the ALJ’s decision.The United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit reviewed the case. The court held that the ALJ correctly applied the law by requiring the employer to rebut the presumption, and properly evaluated the medical evidence in light of the regulatory guidance. The court found that the ALJ’s decision was supported by substantial evidence and that there was no legal error in the treatment of expert opinions or the regulatory preamble. The Fourth Circuit denied the mining company’s petition for review, leaving the award of benefits to the miner in place. View "Wolf Run Mining Company v. DOWCP" on Justia Law

by
A coal miner worked for more than fifteen years for a mining company in Virginia, performing various tasks that exposed him to coal dust. After his health deteriorated, he filed for benefits under the Black Lung Benefits Act (BLBA), which provides compensation to miners disabled by pneumoconiosis caused by coal mine employment. Following his death, his wife continued the benefits claim. The miner’s work history included several periods of layoff, resulting in years of both continuous and partial employment.The District Director initially awarded benefits, finding that the miner’s employment exceeded fifteen years based on Social Security records. However, the employer contested the award, and the claim was referred to an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ). The ALJ credited the miner with only 14.14 years of coal mine employment, using a calculation method that required a 365-day employment relationship for each credited year, and therefore denied the statutory presumption of total disability due to pneumoconiosis. On appeal, the Benefits Review Board affirmed the ALJ’s decision, holding that both a 365-day employment relationship and 125 working days were required for each year of credit.The United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit reviewed the case. The court held that, under the applicable Department of Labor regulation, a miner establishes a year of employment for BLBA purposes by demonstrating at least 125 working days in or around a coal mine within a calendar year or partial periods totaling one year, regardless of a continuous 365-day employment relationship. The court found the regulation unambiguous and rejected the contrary interpretation of the lower tribunals. The Fourth Circuit granted the petition for review, vacated the Board’s order, and remanded for further proceedings consistent with its opinion. View "Baldwin v. DOWCP" on Justia Law

by
Several individuals who participate in West Virginia’s Medicaid program and have been diagnosed with gender dysphoria sought surgical treatments that are excluded from coverage under West Virginia’s Medicaid plan. The state plan expressly excludes coverage for “sex change” or “transsexual” surgeries, though it covers these procedures for other medical indications, such as cancer or congenital abnormalities. The plaintiffs, representing a class of similarly situated individuals, alleged that this exclusion discriminates against them in violation of the Equal Protection Clause, Section 1557 of the Affordable Care Act, and certain provisions of the Medicaid Act.In proceedings before the United States District Court for the Southern District of West Virginia, the court granted summary judgment to the plaintiffs on all claims. The court found that the exclusion was unlawful under the Equal Protection Clause, the Affordable Care Act’s anti-discrimination provision, and the Medicaid Act’s comparability and availability requirements. The district court issued a declaratory judgment and enjoined enforcement of the exclusion. On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit sitting en banc affirmed the district court’s judgment. The state defendants then sought review by the Supreme Court, which granted certiorari, vacated the Fourth Circuit’s en banc decision, and remanded for reconsideration in light of two recent Supreme Court cases: United States v. Skrmetti and Medina v. Planned Parenthood South Atlantic.Upon reconsideration, the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit reversed the district court. The court held that, under Skrmetti, West Virginia’s exclusion does not violate the Equal Protection Clause or the Affordable Care Act, because the exclusion is based on medical diagnosis rather than sex or transgender status and is supported by rational, non-discriminatory reasons. Applying Medina, the court further held that the Medicaid Act’s comparability and availability requirements do not provide a private right of action, and thus plaintiffs could not sue under those provisions. The Fourth Circuit reversed and remanded the case with instructions to enter summary judgment for the defendants. View "Anderson v. Crouch" on Justia Law

by
Roger Mullins, a coal miner, filed a claim for Black Lung benefits in 2012, asserting he was totally disabled due to pulmonary disease caused by coal dust exposure. His initial claim was denied. In 2019, Mullins sought modification of the denial, alleging a mistake of fact and a change in conditions. During the modification proceedings, Mullins submitted new evidence, including medical reports, pulmonary function tests, and treatment records. His medical experts attributed his total disability to legal pneumoconiosis, a chronic pulmonary condition substantially aggravated by coal dust exposure. Cedar Coal Company, his last coal mine employer, contested this, arguing that his impairment was due to other causes such as asthma, obesity, and coronary bypass surgery.An Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) heard the case and determined that Mullins was totally disabled due to legal pneumoconiosis, awarding Black Lung benefits. The ALJ gave greater weight to the medical opinion of Dr. Go, Mullins’ expert, over those of the employer’s experts, finding Dr. Go’s interpretation of the evidence more persuasive and his experience more relevant. Cedar Coal Company appealed this decision to the Benefits Review Board, which affirmed the ALJ’s award of benefits.The United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit reviewed the case. Cedar Coal Company argued that Mullins exceeded the regulatory limitations on affirmative medical evidence and that the ALJ’s finding of legal pneumoconiosis was not supported by substantial evidence. The Fourth Circuit rejected both arguments. It held that the ALJ properly considered all admissible evidence, including treatment records and expert analysis, without violating evidentiary limits. The court found the ALJ’s factual determinations were supported by substantial evidence and adequately explained. The petition for review was denied, and the award of benefits was affirmed. View "Cedar Coal Company v. DOWCP" on Justia Law

by
Vernon Vanderpool worked underground for over twenty years in coal mines, primarily as a roof bolter and section foreman. After retiring due to a back injury, he developed progressively worsening respiratory symptoms and was eventually diagnosed with pneumoconiosis, commonly known as black lung disease. In 2014, Vanderpool filed a claim for benefits under the Black Lung Benefits Act, asserting that his respiratory ailments rendered him totally disabled.Following his claim, the District Director of the U.S. Department of Labor’s Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs issued a decision awarding benefits. Clinchfield Coal Company, Vanderpool’s former employer, contested this decision. An Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) held a hearing and upheld the award, finding total disability based on pulmonary function tests and medical opinion evidence. Clinchfield then appealed to the Benefits Review Board, arguing that the ALJ erred in crediting certain pulmonary function tests and in weighing medical opinions. The Board rejected these arguments and affirmed the ALJ’s decision.The United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit reviewed Clinchfield’s petition, applying a highly deferential standard to the ALJ’s findings. The court held that the ALJ properly applied regulatory standards regarding pulmonary function tests, treating deviations from quality standards as affecting the weight rather than admissibility of the evidence. The ALJ’s assessment of medical opinions, including his rationale for crediting one expert over others, was sufficiently explained and satisfied the requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act. Substantial evidence supported the finding of total disability, permitting invocation of the statutory presumption of disability under the Act. As a result, the Fourth Circuit affirmed the Board’s decision and denied Clinchfield’s petition for review. View "Clinchfield Coal Company v. DOWCP" on Justia Law

by
Darrell Meade worked as a coal miner for 37 years and applied for benefits under the Black Lung Benefits Act, which provides compensation to miners totally disabled by pneumoconiosis. A Labor Department claims examiner initially found that Meade qualified for benefits and that Dominion Coal Corporation was responsible for payment. However, the administrative law judge reviewing the case denied the claim, concluding that Meade’s medical evidence—including x-rays, biopsies, and CT scans—did not establish the irrebuttable presumption of complicated pneumoconiosis required for benefits.Meade appealed to the Benefits Review Board. The Board agreed with the judge’s findings regarding the x-ray and biopsy evidence but determined that the judge had not sufficiently evaluated or explained his analysis of the conflicting expert opinions on the CT scans. The Board vacated the denial in part and remanded the case, instructing the judge to address the competing expert rationales and to provide a clear explanation for his findings. On remand, the judge found Dr. DePonte’s interpretation of the scans more persuasive than Dr. Adcock’s and concluded that the evidence supported a diagnosis of complicated pneumoconiosis, awarding benefits to Meade. Dominion Coal Corporation appealed, challenging both the Board’s standard of review and the judge’s authority based on alleged unconstitutional removal protections.The United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit reviewed the Board’s interlocutory and final orders. The court held that it had jurisdiction to review interlocutory Board orders after a final order was issued. It found that the Board properly remanded the case when the administrative law judge failed to adequately explain his reasoning and that substantial evidence supported the final award of benefits. The court also rejected Dominion’s constitutional challenge, holding that Dominion had not shown harm from the removal protections. The Fourth Circuit denied Dominion’s petition for review. View "Dominion Coal Corporation v. DOWCP" on Justia Law